West Africa

The region of West Africa covers 16 ACP countries: Benin*, Burkina Faso*, Cabo Verde, Côte d'Ivoire*, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea*, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali*, Mauritania, Niger*, Nigeria, Senegal*, Sierra Leone, Togo*.

This region has the highest levels of intra-zone trade in Africa with about 14% of total exports by the 8 member countries* of the West African Economic and Monetary Union (WAEMU).

The CDE has run, jointly with the WAEMU Commission, a Programme for the financing and the promotion of SMEs (PAPF-PME).

In addition, a new Private Sector Development Programme for Côte d'Ivoire (PSDP-CI) has been launched in May 2014.

CDE Regional Office

Head of Regional Office: 
Edmundo VAZ (acting as)
Cité Sotrac Mermoz Lot 90 - 4th floor BP 16160 Dakar Fann SENEGAL
+221 33 869 60 70
+221 33 860 28 00



  • Document (Technical guide)
    Developing countries now account for more than half of the global production of potatoes. The potato’s ease of cultivation and high energy content have made it a valuable cash crop for millions of farmers. The publication of this guide fulfills the request expressed at the workshop on the Potato...
  • Document (Technical guide)
    The aim of this guide is to promote the development of intensive poultry farming and related activities in the Western Sahelian zone. It follows on from the first meetings for professionals in the poultry and livestock feed industries organised by the CDI/CDE in Senegal in November 1993. Intensive...
  • Document (Technical guide)
    Phosphate is essential to agriculture and is one of the few raw materials for which there is no substitute and which can be recovered in only small amounts. For some countries, Senegal and Togo in particular, it is one of the main sources of foreign currency. The availability of fertilizer when it...